”1 Decembrie 1918” University of Alba Iulia - Centre for International Relations
Centre for International Relations
Erasmus+ Partner Countries - International Credit Mobility

For over 25 years, Europe has funded the Erasmus programme, which has enabled over 3 million European students to spend part of their studies in another higher education institution (HEI) elsewhere in Europe. Erasmus+ now opens up these opportunities to students and staff from other parts of the world.

Under international credit mobility, a HEI in a Partner Country can send its students, doctoral candidates or staff to a partner HEI in a Programme Country, and vice versa. Students or doctoral candidates are able to study abroad for a limited period of 3 to 12 months for which credits are obtained. After the mobility phase, the students return to their sending institution to complete their studies. Similarly, staff can spend a teaching and/or training period abroad for up to 2 months.


The Erasmus+ programme refers to "Programme Countries" and "Partner Countries".

Programme Countries are those countries participating fully in the Erasmus+ programme. To do so, they have set up a National Agency and contribute financially to the programme. The 33 Programme Countries are: the 28 EU Member States, and; Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway, the Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia and Turkey.


Partner Countries are all the other countries in the world, grouped together in different regions. Not all Partner Countries are eligible for international credit mobility (Switzerland, Andorra, Monaco, San Marino, the Vatican City State, as well as Iran, Iraq, Yemen and the countries of the Gulf Cooperation Council (Bahrain, Kuwait, Oman, Qatar, Saudi Arabia and United Arab Emirates) are not eligible for international credit mobility)


International credit mobility is open to participants from HEIs established in Programme and Partner Countries. The application form, however, can only be filled in and submitted by a HEI from a Programme Country on behalf of the partners.


The applicant Programme Country HEI will need to hold an Erasmus Charter for Higher Education (ECHE

Our university is implementing the International Credit Mobility action, as we have been awarded grants for mobility flows with Bosnia and Herzegovina, Serbia, Montenegro, Uzbekistan and China (with China we have grants only for staff mobility) besides mobility programmes we will develop collaborative educational and research activities, such as: co-organising thematic conferences (GeoCAD, ICTAMI, BENA, etc.), co-publishing periodical volumes of conference proceedings and peer-reviewed academic journals. We have already established successful joint PhD programmes, and we are looking into new vistas offered by ERA+ and Horizon 2020 Programmes.


Currently, we implement two International Credit Mobility projects with partner institution from Bosnia-Herzegovina, China, Montenegro, Russia, Serbia and Uzbekistan. 


List of Project partners


For study mobility please go to Students Mobility


For staff mobility please go to Staff Mobility


Success stories